IndieAve.com

New Website

Not that I don’t have enough to, but I’ve started a new website called IndieAve.com. It is devoted to helping Indie Artists find the best web resources to help promote their bands.

In the process of building that site, I’ve learned even more about WordPress. While not available for the free version here on WordPress.com, the self-hosted version available from WordPress.org allows you to add plugins from a selection of thousands. While designing the new site, I found several plugins that allow me to build an essentially self-organizing web site.

After some long thought and design for cagegories, I’ve been able to use the “Blog in Blog” plugin (with a few others) to create the site. Now that the site is set up, I can simply write a post, give it appropriate categories, and auto-magically, the post appears on the appropriate pages of the site. And the site is now set up (as is this one) to send a Twitter message about the new post. Very magical. I will be writing about how IndieAve was built on that site, so if you’re interested, you might want to follow there too. I’ll try to post those within the next couple of weeks.

About brucewampler

I've had a long and varied careen in the computer industry. I taught computer science at the University of New Mexico for nearly 15 years. I founded two successful computer software companies. I wrote the first spelling checker and first grammar checkers for personal computers. I've lived in Glenwood Springs for 10 years. My wife, Trina, grew up here, and I've been coming to Glenwood since 1977. My kids have attended the local public schools, and have had a great experience. My son, Van, will be attending the University of Colorado starting in the fall of 2007, and my daughter is a Sophomore at Glenwood Springs High School. I've been on the Roaring Fork School District Board of Education for almost 5 years. Working with our kids, teachers, schools, principals, administrators, and the Roaring Fork community has been one of the most rewarding experiences in my life.
This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

